The Hepatitis B Foundation is an official charity partner of the TCS New York City Marathon. Support our #Run4HepB team, donate today!


Chari A. Cohen, DrPH, MPH (bio)

Louis P. Kassa, III, MPA (bio)
Chief Executive Officer

Robert Gish, MD (bio)
Medical Director

Su Wang, MD, MPH, FACP (bio)
Senior Advisor for Global Health

Joseph Erckert, MA (bio)
Chief Development Officer

Robert Christmas, MBA (bio)
Chief Operating Officer

Patti McAloon, MBA (bio)
Vice President, Finance

Edward F. Tate III, MS (bio)
Director, Communications & Marketing


Timothy M. Block, PhD
Co-founder and Chair 

Louis P. Kassa, III, MPA
Chief Executive Officer

Chari A. Cohen, DrPH, MPH

Catharine Williams, MGA
Vice Chair

Joel Rosen, Esq
Vice Chair

Elizabeth "Betsy" Seeber, MBA, CPA, FHFMA

Wayne Yetter

Board of Directors & Staff

Board of Directors

Timothy M. Block, PhD, (bio)
Co-founder and Chair 

Stanley Broadbent
Retired Managing Director, The Glenmede Trust

Carol Brosgart, MD
Clinical Prof. of Medicine, UC San Francisco

Nathaniel Brown, MD
Retired biotech/pharma executive (focus on HBV and HCV)

Chari A. Cohen, DrPH, MPH
President, Hepatitis B Foundation 

Loren Danzis, Esq
Partner, Fox Rothschild LLP

Craig Esterly, MBA
Co-founder and managing member
SD Asset Group

Anthony Ford-Hutchinson, PhD
Former senior VP, vaccine research
Merck & Co.

David A. Gruber, CPA
Owner, Gruber Administrative Services, LLC

Raman Kapur
Chairman, Transition Patient Services, LLC

Louis P. Kassa III, MPA
CEO, Hepatitis B Foundation, Baruch S. Blumberg Institute and Pennsylvania Biotechnology Center (PABC); President of the PABC

Mark Petty
Operating Partner, Tinicum, LP

Lewis Roberts, MB, ChB, PhD
Professor of Medicine, Mayo Clinic

Joel Rosen, Esq
Vice Chair Emeritus
Managing Partner
High Swartz Attorneys at Law

Betsy Seeber, MBA, CPA, FHFMA
Vice President and Chief Financial Officer
Doylestown Health

Thomas Shenk, PhD
Elkins Professor, Dept. of Molecular Biology
Princeton University

Elizabeth D. Sigety, Esq
Partner, Fox Rothschild LLP 

Walter Tsou, MD, MPH
Adjunct Professor, University of Pennsylvania
Former City Health Commissioner of Philadelphia

Su Wang, MD, MPH, FACP
Medical Director, Center for Asian Health

Catharine Williams, MGA
Vice Chair

Wayne Yetter
Founding CEO of Astra Merck and Novartis (USA)


Scientific and Medical Advisors

Harvey Alter, MD
Nobel Laureate
Former Chief, Infectious Disease Section, Transfusion Medicine, National Institutes of Health

Timothy M. Block, PhD 
Co-Founder and President, Hepatitis B Foundation and Baruch S. Blumberg Institute

Nathaniel Brown, MD
Retired Biotech/Pharma Executive (focus on HBV and HCV), San Francisco

Carol Brosgart, MD
Clinical Professor of Medicine, Division of Global Health, UC San Francisco

Francis Chisari, MD
National Academy of Sciences
National Academy of Medicine
Professor Emeritus
Scripps Research Institute

Raymond Dwek, DPhil, FRS
Professor and Founder, Glycobiology Institute at the University of Oxford, Oxford, UK

Anthony Ford-Hutchinson, PhD
Former Merck Sr. VP, Vaccine Research

Lawrence Friedman, MD
Gastroenterologist, Massachusetts General Hospital

Don Ganem, MD
Professor Emeritus, UC San Francisco

Robert G. Gish, MD
Medical director, Hepatitis B Foundation, and principal, Robert G Gish Consulting LLC

Hie-Won L. Hann, MD
Professor and director, Liver Disease Prevention Center, Thomas Jefferson University Hospital, Philadelphia

Anna Lok, MD
Alice Lohrman Andrews Research Professor of Hepatology, Director of Clinical Hepatology, Assistant Dean for Clinical Research, University of Michigan

Brian McMahon, MD
Scientific and Clinical Director, Liver Disease and Hepatitis Program, Alaska Native Medical Center, Fairbanks, AK

Edith Mitchell, MD
Program Leader, GI Oncology
Director, Center to Eliminate Cancer Disparities
Clinical Professor, Jefferson University

Robert Perrillo, MD
Senior Research Hepatologist, Hepatology Division of Baylor University Medical Center, Dallas, and Adjunct Professor of Medicine, University of Texas Southwestern 

Lewis Roberts, MB, ChB, PhD
Professor of Medicine, Mayo Clinic

Kenneth Rothstein, MD
Director of Regional Outreach and Regional Hepatology
Professor of Clinical Medicine
Penn Medicine

Raymond Schinazi, PhD
Professor, Pediatrics and Chemistry, and Director of the Laboratory of Biochemical Pharmacology, Emory University; Founder of RFS Pharma

Thomas Shenk, PhD
Elkins Professor, Dept. of Molecular Biology, Princeton University

John Tavis, PhD
Professor, Molecular Microbiology and Immunology
Saint Louis University School of Medicine

Norah Terrault, MD
Professor, Chief of Gastroenterology and Liver Diseases, University of Southern California

Scientific and Medical Advisory Board Members Emeritus

Stephen Locarnini, MD, PhD

Board Members Emeritus

Joan Block, RN, BSN

Alan Brownstein, MPH

Joseph Hediger

Janine Witte


Honorary Board Members

Anne Blumberg

Jane Blumberg


In Memoriam

Baruch Blumberg, MD, DPhil
Nobel Laureate
Distinguished Scholar of the Hepatitis B Foundation (2011)

W. Thomas London, MD
Emeritus, Fox Chase Cancer Center (2017)

William Mason, PhD
Emeritus, Fox Chase Cancer Center (2022)

Bud Tennant, DVM
College of Veterinary Medicine, Cornell University (2016) 

Paul Witte
Co-Founder (2021)



Chari A. Cohen, DrPH, MPH 

Su Wang, MD, MPH, FACP
Senior Advisor for Global Health

Monique Benvenutti
Social Media and Communications Manager

Fiona Borondy-Jenkins, MPH
Public Health Research Fellow

Maura Delaney 
Events Manager 

Joe Erckert
Chief Development Officer, Institutional Advancement

Catherine Freeland, PhD, MPH
Associate Director, Public Health Research

Frank Hood
Associate Director, Policy & Partnerships; Director, Hep B United 

Yasmin Ibrahim, MD, PhD, MBA
Public Health Program Director

Michaela Jackson, MS
Program Director, Prevention Policy

Maureen Kamischke
Patient Engagement and Consult Specialist

Shreya Koirala
Program Coordinator, Public Health

Holly Moore, MPH
Public Health Program Coordinator  

Megan Pierce, CMP
Director of Events

Anousha Qureshi
Program Coordinator, Public Health

Ginny Robison
Consult Manager

Alaina Schukraft
Development Manager

Edward F. Tate III, MS
Director, Communications & Marketing

Beatrice Zovich, MPH
Program Manager, Public Health