Hepatitis D Trials

*CHB=Chronic hepatitis B, HBD=hepatitis D

For trials listed as "International" or "International Only," click on the NCT identification number for a complete list of participating countries.

Evaluation of Patients with Liver Disease, Including Hepatitis D – U.S.
Evaluate, investigate and follow-up patients suffering from acute and chronic liver disease. Qualified patients may be able to participate in other offered studies. Contact: Nancy Fryzek at 301-435-6122 nancy.fryzek@nih.gov or Dr. T. Jake Liang at 301-496-1721 jakel@mail.nih.gov. Refer to identifier NCT00001971 (Study ID # 910214, 91-DK-0214)

The Hepatitis Delta International Network –International
Multicenter, observational study will build a registry of HDV patients around the world and collect clinical information. Contact: Dr. Heiner Wedemeyer at Wedemeyer.Heiner@mh-hannover.de or Dr. SvenjaHardtke at Hardtke.Svenja@mh-hannover.de and refer to identifier NCT02375906 (Study ID # HepNet-HDIN)

A Study to Evaluate Pegylated Interferon Lambda Monotherapy in Patients With Chronic Hepatitis Delta Virus Infection – New Zealand
This Phase II study determines if pegylated interferon lambda-1a is more effective and will cause fewer side effects than interferon alpha treatment in patients with hepatitis D. Contact Isabel Gorham at 650-272-6138 or igorham@eigerbio.com and refer to identifier NCT02765802.

Ezetimibe for Patients With Chronic Hepatitis D – Pakistan
Ezetimibe possesses pharmacophore features to inhibit NTCP, the receptor required for HBV and HDV hepatocyte entry that include two hydrophobes and one hydrogen bond acceptor. Therapy with ezetimibe may lead to decline in hepatitis D virus levels. The aim of the study is to evaluate the utility of ezetimibe in patients with chronic HDV infection. Contact: Zaigham Abbas at 922135862937 or email drzabbas@gmail.com and refer to identifier NCT03099278.

Lonafarnib With Ritonavir in HDV (LOWR-2) (LOWR-2) – Turkey
This is an open-label, dose-rangingsudy to evaluate the safety and efficacy of Lonafarnibwith Ritonavir-boosting in patients chronically infected with hepatitis Delta. Contact Dr. Cihan Yurdaydinat Cihan.Yurdaydin@medicine.ankara.edu.tr and refer to study identifier NCT02430194.